This article is about the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international association football competition challenged by the senior women’s national teams of the members of FIFA (The sport’s international governing body). The competition has been held every 4 years & 1 year after the men’s FIFA World Cup since 1991. Under the tournament’s current format, national teams compete for 31 slots in a 3-year qualification phase. The host nation’s team is automatically entered as the 32nd slot. The tournament called the World Cup Finals is contested at venues within the host nation over about 1 month.

4 national teams have won the 8 FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments. The US has won 4 times & is the current champion after winning it at the 2019 tournament held in France. The other winners are Germany, with two titles, & Japan and Norway with one title each.

6 countries have hosted the Women’s World Cup. Canada, France, Germany, and Sweden hosted it once while China and the United States hosted the tournament twice. Australia & New Zealand will host the 2023 FIFA women’s world cup.


Qualifying tournaments are held within the 6 FIFA continental zones: Africa, Europe, Asia, South America, Oceania, North & Central America, and the Caribbean. The tournaments are organized by their respective confederations.

  • Confederation of African Football (CAF)
  •  Asian Football Confederation (AFC)
  •  Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)
  • South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL)
  • Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)
  •  Union of European Football Associations (UEFA)

For each tournament, FIFA decides earlier the number of berths awarded to each of the continental zones, based on the relative strength of the confederations’ teams. The hosts of the World Cup receive an automatic berth in the finals. Since the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup, the number of finalists increased from 16 to 24, & now the number is 32.

How many women’s teams qualify for the World Cup?

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualification process determines 30 of the 32 teams, which will play in the FIFA Women’s World Cup with the co-hosts Australia & New Zealand qualifying automatically. The teams qualified for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 are:

  • Argentina
  •  Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China PR
  •  Colombia
  •  Costa Rica
  •  Denmark
  •  England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  •  Japan
  •  Korea Republic
  •  Morocco
  •  Netherlands
  •  New Zealand
  •  Nigeria
  •  Norway
  •  Philippines
  • Republic of Ireland
  • South Africa
  •  Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • USA
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 dates & Venues:

The 2023 FIFA Women’s world cup will be held in Australia & New Zealand from 20th July to 20th August 2023. Venues for the FIFA women’s world cup 2023 are as follows:

  • Brisbane Stadium – Brisbane / Meaanjin, Australia 
  • Dunedin Stadium – Dunedin / Ōtepoti, New Zealand
  •  Eden Park – Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau, New Zealand 
  • Hindmarsh Stadium – Adelaide / Tarntanya, Australia 
  • Melbourne Rectangular Stadium – Melbourne / Naarm, Australia 
  • Perth Rectangular Stadium – Perth / Boorloo, Australia 
  • Stadium Australia – Adelaide / Tarntanya, Australia 
  • Sydney Football Stadium – Sydney / Gadigal, Australia 
  • Waikato Stadium – Hamilton / Kirikiriroa, New Zealand 
  • Wellington Regional Stadium – Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara, New Zealand


In this article, we discussed the FIFA women’s world cup teams, schedule, and venues. If you are a fan of football then this article is beneficial for you. You can watch the 2023 FIFA women’s world cup live on Purple Crystal.