This article is about the club football competition. For the competition among national teams, see the FIFA Club World Cup 2022. The FIFA Club World Cup is an international men’s association football competition organized by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The competition was first contested in 2000 as the FIFA Club World Championship. It was not held from 2001 to 2004 due to a combination of factors in the canceled 2001 tournament, most importantly the collapse of FIFA’s marketing partner International Sport and Leisure (ISL), but since 2005 it has been held every year, and has been hosted by Brazil, Japan, the United Arab Emirates, Morocco, and Qatar. Views differ as to the cup’s prestige: it struggles to attract interest in most of Europe and is the object of heated debate in South America.

2022 Fifa Club world cup

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is the 22nd FIFA World Cup, an international association football tournament contested by the men’s national teams of FIFA’s member associations. It is taking place in Qatar from 20 November to 18 December 2022; it is the first World Cup to be held in the Arab world and Muslim world, and the second held entirely in Asia after the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan. France is the defending champions, having defeated Croatia 4–2 in 2018 final. At an estimated cost of over $220 billion, it is the most expensive World Cup ever held; this figure is disputed by Qatari officials, including organizing CEO Nasser Al Khater, who said the true cost is $8 billion, and other figures relate to overall infrastructure development since the World Cup was awarded to Qatar in 2010.

Prize money

In April 2022, FIFA announced the prizes for all participating nations. Each qualified team will receive $1.5 million before the competition to cover preparation costs with each team receiving at least $9 million in prize money. This edition’s total prize pool will be $440 million, $40 million greater than the prize pool of the previous tournament.

Champions $42 $42

Runners-up $30 $30

Third place $27 $27

Fourth place $25 $25

5th–8th place (quarter-finals) $17 $68

9th–16th place (Round of 16) $13 $104

17th–32nd place (Group stage) $9 $144

Total $440

Fifa world cup 2022 Rule changes

The tournament features new substitution rules whereby teams may make up to five substitutions in normal time and an additional substitution in extra time. In addition, it is the first World Cup to feature concussion substitutions, whereby each team is permitted to use a maximum of one concussion substitute during a match. A concussion substitution does not count toward a team’s quota of regular substitutions. Iranian goalkeeper Alireza Beiranvand suffered a concussion in his country’s opening match against England and was replaced by Hossein Hosseini. This was the first use of a dedicated concussion substitute during a World Cup.